Helpful Websites in the COVID Era

, , ,

We have compiled a list of websites related to the COVID-19 outbreak that may help you in a number of different ways. These websites may provide positive relief from the challenges we’re all facing, provide mental health resources to assist with the challenges around staying at home for extended periods of time, or they provide the latest information on the spread of the virus itself to help you avoid confusing reporting.

Positive Resources

Lockdown: Character Strengths and Silver Linings podcast – www.chrismackey.com.au/podcast-2

Destination Happiness Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/destinationhappiness1/

Destination Happiness YouTube Channel – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCks1MAKStcBATAQHZeGwfWA

The Happy Broadcast – https://www.thehappybroadcast.com/

Reddit’s Uplifting News Forum – https://www.reddit.com/r/UpliftingNews/

The Greater Good Science Centre (UC Berkeley) – https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/

Positive News – https://www.positive.news/ 

The Good News Network – https://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/

The Optimist Daily – https://www.optimistdaily.com/

Huff Post, Good News Section – https://www.huffpost.com/impact/topic/good-news

Not All News is Bad – https://notallnewsisbad.com/ 

Reddit’s Random Acts of Kindness Forum – https://www.reddit.com/r/randomactsofkindness/

 

Mental Health Articles Related to COVID-19

Positive Responding to Coronavirus – https://www.chrismackey.com.au/positive-responding-to-coronavirus/ 

Looking after your mental health during a global pandemic (podcast, 5m30s, RN Breakfast) –  https://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/breakfast/looking-after-your-mental-health-during-a-global-pandemic/12073476

Silver linings – how to stay positive during the coronavirus crisis (Professor Lea Waters) – https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2020/mar/17/silver-linings-how-to-stay-positive-during-the-coronavirus-crisis

Helping children cope with emergencies (Centre for Disease Control) – https://www.cdc.gov/childrenindisasters/helping-children-cope.html

Taking care of your emotional health (Centre for Disease Control) – https://emergency.cdc.gov/coping/selfcare.asp

Why taking care of your own wellbeing helps others (Greater Good, UC Berkeley) – https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/why_taking_care_of_your_own_well_being_helps_others

Headspace’s guide for young people on how to cope with stress related to COVID-19 – https://headspace.org.au/young-people/how-to-cope-with-stress-related-to-covid-19/

 

Helpful Websites for Parenting

Emerging Minds blog – https://emergingminds.com.au/resources/

The Positive Education Institute’s Learning to Flourish blog – https://www.ggs.vic.edu.au/Institute/Blog

Professor Lea Waters’ blog – https://www.leawaters.com/blog

 

Free, Helpful Mental Health Resources

Articles and videos related to COVID-19 and its associated challenges – https://www.chrismackey.com.au/tag/covid-19/

Chris Mackey and Associates free mental health resources – www.chrismackey.com.au/resources

The Centre For Clinical Interventions free mental health resources – https://www.cci.health.wa.gov.au/Resources/Overview 

The Gottman Institute’s blog on relationships – https://www.gottman.com/blog/

Dr Russ Harris’s free resources – https://www.actmindfully.com.au/free-stuff/

Headspace blog – https://headspace.org.au/blog/blog/

Lifeline’s Facts and Information page – https://www.lifeline.org.au/get-help/facts-and-information

 

COVID-19 Reputable Sources of Information

World Health Organisation’s (WHO) COVID-19 Latest Updates – https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019

World Health Organisation’s (WHO) COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions – https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/q-a-coronaviruses

Australian Government’s COVID-19 Latest Updates – https://www.health.gov.au/news/health-alerts/novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov-health-alert

Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Centre – https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html

RMIT ABC Fact Check coronavirus information debunked – https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-27/coronacheck-coronavirus-misinformation-debunked/12088960

Worldometer COVID-19 data – https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Please also see a short video from Chris Mackey on applying positive psychology to respond to the coronavirus.